I Cried Today

2 Aug

Let me start by saying that I rarely cry. I have never been one of those girls that can cry at the drop of a hat. Sometimes I actually wish I were able to cry more. I think it would make me feel better to get it all out when I get really stressed or sad. But, I’m just not a crier.

This morning I was sitting outside in my backyard drinking my coffee and watching my son play in the yard. I was watching him look around at the trees and stomp through the grass. He was in his own little world, picking up pieces of mulch and picking flowers, just exploring and doing what he loves to do. I sat in awe watching him. I thought about how much he has grown over the past 14 months. I thought of his innocence and how I never want him to lose that part of him, but how I know it’s inevitable that life will eventually take that from him. I thought of how overwhelmingly happy I am to have him in my life. And, I cried. I only shed a couple of tears, but I cried today. I cried happy tears.

cry, happy, mother

baby, boy, innocence

Sometimes it feels good to cry and release emotions that get tucked away behind the hustle and bustle of everyday life. This was one of those times. Watching my son play in the yard at this young age, where it is his whole world, will be a memory that I treasure forever. I love you my little son, more than words.

heartsig

Leave a Reply

