Going through Big Changes

23 Jul

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks around here. I’ve been a bit overwhelmed lately and haven’t felt like blogging much. I don’t like for blogging to feel like a chore, and, unfortunately, it has felt that way recently. I don’t know why, but it has. I am hoping that it becomes my happy place again soon because I really need one of those right about now. It’s not that I’m unhappy; things are going well, very well. Things are just a little stressful, and new things are on the horizon. I am starting a new job in a couple of weeks, and I am having a hard time dealing with the transition period. I wasn’t seeking out a new job, so it kind of caught me off guard, and I wasn’t prepared to make this transition so suddenly. It is a great opportunity though, something I really couldn’t pass up. It is at a smaller lab here in San Diego. There’s room for growth, and it’s a step up from the position I have at my current job. It is bittersweet though because I’ve been with my current company for 6 years now. I was one of the first few people in my department, and I’ve been through so much with the company and my coworkers. I will miss my coworkers a lot, but I have built lasting relationships with many of them, and I know we will keep in touch. It will be weird to be the “new girl” again because it’s been so long since I have been in those shoes.

I have been experiencing many different emotions related to this new adventure I am about to begin: anxiety, fear, excitement, pride, sadness, guilt, relief. So so many things! This next couple of weeks will be tough because I am filled with anxiety as I anticipate my first day at my new job. I am anticipating what the day-to-day duties and stress level will be like. I am worrying about how my new coworkers will be. Will they be friendly and fun to be around or will I not like them at all? There are so many unknowns as I step into this new endeavor. It’s hard to close such a big chapter in my life, but I’m excited to see what the next one has to offer.

Change - Blue Button

Source

So, that’s a little update about what’s going on with me lately. What’s new in your life? Have you had to go through a big change like this before? How did you adjust?

Thanks for your support!

heartsig

2 Responses to “Going through Big Changes”

  1. Karen @ Karen's Soiree July 24, 2013 at 6:03 AM #

    Change is hard! The anxiety always ends up taking over the excitement!! I used to get that anxiety whenever it was the night before the first day of school as a kid and still get it when starting new things as an adult. You will do great! Such an exciting time for you, enjoy it!! Wishing you good luck with the new job!

    • eatnapplay July 24, 2013 at 6:17 PM #

      Thanks so much for the kind words, Karen. It means a lot! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

