Beef and Broccoli Recipe

19 Jun

I want to share a new recipe with you guys. My hubby and I have made this twice now. It’s super simple and really yummy. We made it gluten-free, but you don’t have to.

Here’s the things you will need:

  • 1 lb. of beef cubes
  • 3 tablespoons of almond flour
  • 1/2 cup water + 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic or garlic powder
  • 2 bunches of broccoli
  • 1 small onion, cut into chunks
  • 1/3 cup of tamari (gluten-free soy sauce)
  • 1 teaspoon grated (or ground) ginger
  • 1 cup brown rice

A few substitutions and side notes: I think this dish would be good with chicken too, but then it would have to be called chicken and broccoli. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t tried it yet though, so let me know how it turns out if you use chicken. If you prefer, you can use corn starch instead of almond flour. I used brown rice flour the first time, but I liked the almond flour a lot better. You can use regular soy sauce if you want. I won’t judge. πŸ˜‰ And, for the rice, we use this stuff. It’s a brown rice and quinoa blend. It’s organic, and it only takes 90 seconds in the microwave. Love it! We buy it at Costco all the time.

Directions:

1. Mix 2 tablespoons almond flour, garlic, and 2 tablespoons of water in a bowl until smooth.

2. Add beef to bowl and coat with flour mixture.

3. In a wok or pan, stir fry beef in one tablespoon of oil until desired tenderness is reached. Set aside in a separate container and keep warm.

4. Stir fry broccoli and onion in remaining oil (1 tablespoon)Β for ~5 minutes.

5. Return beef to pan.

6. Mix 1/2 cup of water, remaining almond flour (1 tablespoon), tamari and ginger in a small bowl until smooth. Add to pan.

7. Cook over medium heat for two minutes.

8. Serve over rice and enjoy.

gluten-free, dinner, meal, beef, broccoli

recipe, beef, broccoli, gluten-free, dinner, meal

Let me know what you think about this recipe. I am going to add it to our go-to meals because it’s quick and there’s always leftovers for lunch. That’s a plus because then I don’t have to worry about making my lunch to bring to work the next day. What are some of your favorite go-to meals?

heartsig

3 Responses to “Beef and Broccoli Recipe”

  1. Amy Mayen June 19, 2013 at 12:52 PM #

    I have all the ingredients except the flour and brown rice. I even have fresh ginger! I wonder if I can sub the flour out for plain cake flour? Or go without flour? I don’t enjoy cooking because I never feel very confident…but I’m going to try this one this week and see what happens:) thanks for the recipe!

  2. jordanshaner June 21, 2013 at 8:18 PM #

    Hey! I found your blog through the bloglovin’ link up! Love this post! Looks so yummy! I will definitely be trying it asap!

    xoxo

    Jordan

    http://thattallgirlinheels.com

    • eatnapplay June 23, 2013 at 10:53 AM #

      So cool! Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Leave a Reply

