My Rant About Diet and Medicine

15 Jun

I’ve been feeling pretty blah lately. I have been struggling with intense “brain fog” for several days. With this, my creativity, inspiration, and motivation have been pretty much non existent. I am starting to feel a little better each day. The doctors tell me it’s too broad of a symptom for them to figure out the cause. I have had blood work done, and everything has come back normal. I went back for a follow up and more tests were ordered, but I don’t even think it’s worth wasting my time to get them done. I asked if it could have been the significant amount of gluten that I ate while I was in Vegas (because it’s just so hard to avoid it while traveling). They said probably not. Unfortunately, the only symptom they relate to a gluten intolerance is digestive issues. There just isn’t enough research out there to suggest otherwise, but I am really starting to think that’s what it is.

Many people may call me crazy, and that’s okay. It makes sense to me that something I put into my body could result in an adverse symptom. I can’t wrap my head around why many people in the medical field don’t take diet into consideration as a possibility of ailments or disease. Food is the substance everyone puts into their body every day. Why couldn’t something in one’s diet be to blame? There are genetic tests related to Celiac disease that I inquired about, but because I did not have the “classic” symptoms of abdominal pain or diarrhea, they said it couldn’t possibly be that. I get it. There needs to be a clinical symptom in order to make a test medically necessary, but what I don’t get is the fact that it is assumed that everyone will present with the same symptoms. A friend of mine is a physician’s assistant, and she says that her office will run the genetic tests when other symptoms like mine are present and the obvious things have been ruled out. She said there are many people who test positive without the “classic” symptoms. This is just an example of how much we have yet to learn about medicine. Advancements in knowledge, testing, and research have come a long way over the years, but they have way further to travel before we know even half of the processes that take place in our bodies. It’s unfortunate that I can’t get any answers. It’s tough to be the crazy girl who can’t eat donuts or bread or cake like everyone else, but I feel like it’s got to be that way if I want to have a brain that functions properly. I don’t have a medical backing to my claim, but I’ve got to listen to my body and nourish it to the best of my ability. Therefore, I will continue on my gluten-free journey and urge others who may be struggling with similar situations to do the same. One day there will be a wake-up call to the Western medical world telling them that food does affect many systems in our body. I believe that diet should be the first thing to look at when we have any ailment, whether it be a headache, changes in bowels, fatigue, irritability or brain fog. The foods we eat today are full of sugar and processed chemicals that could be to blame for these things, and our doctors seem to be in denial and so quick to write a prescription instead of looking for the cause. Ok, I’ll end my rant right there. But, seriously if you are having any ongoing ailments, physical or psychological, look at what you are putting into your body each day. It may surprise you when you start to make some changes. If you got through this whole post, I thank you. πŸ˜‰ Have you had any adverse reactions to certain foods? Do you think I’m completely nuts? I’d love to hear your thoughts. Go ahead, leave a comment!

heartsig

6 Responses to “My Rant About Diet and Medicine”

  1. Holly H June 15, 2013 at 12:15 PM #

    I’m sorry you’re not getting any answers 😦 But, you are so spot on that what we put into our bodies affects us. I can so tell when I’ve eaten junk because I feel like it. It blows my mind that people don’t get that.

    • eatnapplay June 15, 2013 at 1:21 PM #

      Thank you, Holly. Yes, it’s unfortunate that some people don’t understand, but hopefully in time it will make more sense to all.

  2. Laura Hartley June 15, 2013 at 12:57 PM #

    I think this makes total sense. “You are what you eat”, right? I’m glad that you can pin point yours to gluten in your diet, but it is important for people to know its not always gluten for everyone. I was gluten free for over 6 months and it did not help me. I had to cut out caffeine. The moral is always listen to your body, nobody knows it like you do.

    • eatnapplay June 15, 2013 at 1:16 PM #

      Yes, that’s exactly right. Everyone is different and you have to figure out what’s best for you. I still haven’t found my “perfect” diet. I can’t do caffeine anymore either (or too much sugar, dairy or alcohol).

  3. Amy Mayen June 15, 2013 at 8:18 PM #

    You’re totally right. I get”sick” when I eat certain foods…fast food, etc. by sick I mean tired, sluggish, tummy pain, and (constipated..,sorry) but I never even considered gluten as a culprit…

    I think food is the number 1 most efficient preventative medicine for illness that exists.

Leave a Reply

