A Special Day to Remember

15 May

Elevate Blog Conference

I attended a blog conference called Elevate this past weekend. This was a conference where 55 women bloggers met up to get to know each other, network, and learn new things from each other about the blogging world. I had recently been thinking that it would be cool to go to a blogging conference, so when I saw that Elevate was a smaller, local conference (about an hour from me), I knew that I wanted to be a part of it right away. But, there was only one problem. It was sold out. I put my name on the waiting list, and lucky for me, a spot opened up. When the spot became available, I started to question whether I should go or not. This sort of thing is really out of my comfort zone. I have always been VERY shy and reserved. For me to go to a conference and introduce myself to 55 complete strangers is a HUGE deal for me. It is much easier to talk to people from behind a computer screen, and even that has been a huge leap for me. But, I thought to myself, “You are a big girl. You need to learn to step out of your comfort zone and meet new people.” So, after tossing the idea back and forth in my head and getting the okay from the hubby, I decided to purchase the ticket. I can say now that it was one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Let me tell you why…

When I walked up to the entrance at Newport Dunes, I was immediately questioning if I had made the right choice to come. I did not know anyone. I started to slowly introduce myself to a few people, but soon realized that many of the other women already seemed to know each other. I had kind of already prepared myself for the worst though. I had told myself that it may be really clique-y and I should just take it for what it was. Even if it was a waste of my time and money, I knew it would be an experience that I could be proud of because I took that fearless leap out of my comfortable place.

Elevate Blog Conference

I am so glad that I took that leap because this experience turned out to be so much more than I ever could have imagined.

Summer, Jen, and Nichole planned, decorated, and organized the most amazing event. There was not one detail left out. The decor was absolutely stunning. The schedule was perfectly planned out. There was no disorganization or chaos. It was just perfect! I can’t imagine that it was an easy task to pull off such an awesome conference! Thank you all so much ladies!

Elevate Blog Conference

I met so many fabulous women at the conference. It was a bit difficult to talk to everyone, but the organizers did a great job of mixing up the groups so everyone could move around and get to know each other. I hope to build closer relationships with the women I met through our blogging and social media interactions. They were truly a great group of creative and unique individuals.

Me and "my hubby"

Me and Megan from Absolute Mommy

Elevate_group_picture

Group picture from Lora Knight Photography

In my opinion, the best part of the conference was the unspoken bond that I felt throughout the entire day. It’s presence became even stronger during the speeches that Sarah, Kimmie, Erin, and Ashley gave. There was a sense of unity in the fact that we all have a story to share with the world. We all have a passion for writing about our daily struggles, our happiness, and our lives. We feel whole when we use our words to relate to or inspire others. Feeling this connection with so many other ladies filled my heart and made me happy. At the end of the day, this experience had far exceeded my expectations. I am so grateful that I talked myself into going. I will remember this day for many years to come, the day of my first blog conference, and the memories of this day will always hold a special place in my heart. ❤

heartsig

6 Responses to “A Special Day to Remember”

  1. allegoricaldiamond May 15, 2013 at 11:06 PM #

    Thanks, I’ve been interested in going to a gathering like this. This actually made it more realistic so I appreciate the information … good stuff😇

    • eatnapplay May 16, 2013 at 6:41 AM #

      No problem, glad to help! If you find one to attend, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂

  2. Pop Art Minis - Joni May 18, 2013 at 7:05 PM #

    Great post! Truly and inspiring day!

    • eatnapplay May 18, 2013 at 8:47 PM #

      Thank you, Joni. It sure was! I’m so glad I went. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simple Stencil Wall Art Project | eatnapplay - August 5, 2013

    […] I decided to use the Royal Design Studio stencil that I received from Elevate to make a simple wall art project for our home. I really want to use it as a pattern for one of […]

  2. I’m Away Today | eatnapplay - August 12, 2013

    […] I’m away today. I am guest posting at my friend Jen’s blog, Delightful Deets. We met at Elevate, and I have been following her blog ever since. She is such a sweetheart and has the cutest  […]

Leave a Reply

