Gettin’ Fit Update

26 Apr

A few weeks ago I told you about the 21 day bootcamp I did at work and how it has inspired me to get into the routine of working out. ~You can read more about that here.~

Well, how have I done with my fitness goals in the past 3 weeks? I’d say I’ve done a pretty good job. Could I have done better? Gone longer? Pushed harder? Of course! I think there is always room for improvement. But, I am proud of myself for what I have accomplished so far.

I have been running two to three times a week, and I have gone for two bike rides as well. In addition, I started a 30 day squat challenge yesterday and have started working on strengthening my arms now that my shoulder is feeling better again. (YAY for that!)

bike ride

I want to mention the fact that I have always HATED running with a passion. I have found, though, that it is the easiest (not physically) thing for me to do during my lunch break. I find that for me, my lunch time is the best time to get in a quick work out. I always say I’ll find time after work or I’ll get up early and work out, but that just never seems to happen. When I get home from a long day at work, I just want to spend time with my family, make dinner, and relax. And, who wants to get up earlier? My alarm already goes off at 5:45 AM, and I can barely drag my butt outta bed as it is. So, my plan has been to bring my work out clothes to work with me and run during my lunch break. I have a couple of other girls that I go with so that definitely helps. We motivate each other. We run a mile and a half loop and use a run tracker app to time ourselves. We are getting better each time. I am getting used to running, and it is becoming easier. After I complete a run, I feel so good. It helps clear my mind and relieves a lot of stress and worries. I have gotten to the point where I NEED to work out to feel good. I crave it! If I don’t do something physical at least every other day, I can feel my mood start to change. I get cranky. I have also learned that even on the days when I am so tired that I can’t imagine lifting a muscle, that physical activity is actually what I need. I actually feel more energetic afterwards, and I am ALWAYS glad I did it.

Run

This day was my first 11 minute mile. I was shooting for 12 minutes. 4/15/13

PR

Yesterday (4/25/13), I went for a mile run outside at the park and pushed as hard as I could. I beat my record of 11 minutes, finishing in 9.5 minutes. I felt like I was going to puke, but was so happy!

It feels good to accomplish new things that I never even had the desire to do before. I am enjoying my work outs and feeling stronger. I will post more updates in a few weeks.

Would you like to join me in my 30 day squat challenge? This picture has been floating around the web; it is not my own nor do I know who to give credit for it, but this is the challenge I am doing…

squat challenge

heartsig

2 Responses to “Gettin’ Fit Update”

  1. xokendradmr April 29, 2013 at 10:25 PM #

    Fun! I’ve saved the squat challenge to my computer and am going to start with 50 tonight.
    I only did 30 last night and was sore today though…so we shall see!
    Good luck on your squat challenge!! Thanks for sharing!

    • eatnapplay April 30, 2013 at 6:10 AM #

      Awesome! So glad you are joining me. πŸ™‚ You may want to just do half of the amount it says for each day if you are sore. 50 is a lot to start with if you haven’t been doing squats much.

Leave a Reply

