Clean Eating: My Story-Part 3

22 Apr

Read part 1 and part 2 first.

The third part of my clean eating journey is what I call the “refinement phase”. This phase started when my son was about 2 months old. We discovered that he had blood in his stool. The doctor told us that this was most likely due to a dairy or soy sensitivity. Since I was breastfeeding, I cut these foods out of my diet immediately, and he soon recovered.

Since then, I have had small amounts of dairy on occasion, and it does not seem to bother him. I don’t eat soy often, so I doubt it was ever the problem. Recently, I tried to introduce a larger amount of dairy into my diet, and I was sooo sick. Dairy is one of the top ten inflammation-causing foodsย and some studies have suggested that nearly 75% of Americans have an intolerance to it. I never knew until I stopped eating it that I was part of this group. Are you?

Another food that I have recently discovered that I have an intolerance for is gluten. I got to spend my New Years Eve in the emergency room due to abdominal pain. NOT fun! I was there for 10 hours, had two CT scans, and a pelvic ultrasound. After all of these tests, the doctors were still unable to find out what was wrong. At least it wasn’t appendicitis, which is what they had to rule out. I was a bit upset that they could not find out why I was having the pain, and I decided to start looking into what could have been causing it. I came across a lot of information about gluten. I decided to exclude gluten from my diet for a couple of weeks just to see how I felt.

That was the BEST thing I have ever done for my body! Not only did my abdominal pain subside, but I had way more energy, I was not bloated, and I felt happier. It was scary to think that something I was ingesting for sustenance was potentially causing more harm than good.

Needless to say, I haven’t turned back to gluten, and I won’t be trying to add dairy back into my diet either. However, I can’t say that I am completely finished with the refining phase. I think that there are still things that I can clean up in my diet to perfect it. I will continue to experiment and research what the best options are for me and my body. I want to be the healthiest, happiest me I can be. And, I urge you to do the same. Like I’ve said before, it is a long process, but I don’t doubt that it is the best thing that I can do for my body.

Clean Eating

I’d love to hear your story or any questions you may have. Comment below to share.

If you’d like to read more posts about clean eating, check out these:

Clean Eating and Sweets

What is Clean Eating? 5 Guidelines to Follow

5 Tips for How to Eat a Clean Diet

heartsig

Leave a Reply

