Clean Eating and Sweets

9 Apr

I get this question often…”What can I have to satisfy my sweet tooth while eating a clean diet?” This is a great question. I love my sweets, and this is one of the areas that I struggle with from time to time. That being said, it is one of the most important struggles to get control of in order to make clean eating a way of life. You need to rid your body of the toxicity of refined sugar, and I am not going to tell you it’s easy. Although, I will tell you that you will feel better on the other side, and you will be happy you did it. Detoxifying your body of processed sugar usually takes about two weeks. In this time, be sure you are paying close attention to your food labels. The most important part to read is the ingredients section. Sugar is added to so many things these days, things that you wouldn’t even think of, and it goes by at least 50 different names (e.g. cane juice, malt syrup). This makes it more difficult to interpret what’s in your foods, and this is how companies want it to be. This is one of the reasons why it is so important to steer clear of processed foods altogether.

Eat less sugar

 What makes this process less overwhelming is to focus on the foods you CAN have, not the ones you cannot. Some foods that I CAN eat to satisfy my sweet tooth are apples with almond butter (all natural), banana slices and peanut butter (all natural) on a piece of toast (whole grain), or a protein smoothie with berries. I use raw honey as a sweetener for baking things like my pumpkin muffins. I also like Lara bars for a sweet snack. These have no sugar added (except the ones with chocolate chips in them-avoid these) and are made from dates which make them sweet. I really like the cashew cookie one because it is made from just cashews and dates. Simple and yummy!

As for artificial sweeteners, there has been some research starting to emerge that is showing that they are not good for us. I avoid these as well. Because artificial sweeteners are even sweeter than real sugar, they only increase the cravings, so avoiding these will help you kick the habit.

I hope this has helped answer the question of what to do about eating clean and wanting to have a sweet treat now and then. Trust me, it gets easier with time, and your body will thank you for it!

heartsig

2 Responses to “Clean Eating and Sweets”

  1. Dale April 10, 2013 at 5:30 AM #

    What options would you suggest for sweetening my coffee in the morning? I currently have one 12oz serving of coffee (non-flavored) every morning and include 2 to 3 tablespoons of non-dairy creamer and 2 packets of Splenda. I have tried to skip the sweetener and the creamer in various combinations but just didn’t enjoy the taste.

    Thanks,
    Dale

    • eatnapplay April 10, 2013 at 12:29 PM #

      Hi Dale,
      That is a great question. My first suggestion would be to purchase a premium organic coffee. This is not only a healthier option free of additives and pesticides, but much tastier. The goal should be to find one that you enjoy the taste of without having to add cream or sweetener at all. In the mean time, I would see how you like it with a small amount of honey or 100% pure maple syrup with the attempt to add less and less each time until you can drink your coffee black. Good luck! Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

