What is Clean Eating? 5 Guidelines to Follow

25 Mar

Eating clean is one of my biggest passions. It certainly hasn’t always been, that’s for sure. I used to eat like crap! Back in college, my meals consisted of pop tarts, Wendy’s dollar menu items, and boxes of Velveeta shells and cheese. The thought of this makes me cringe now, but I have learned a lot since then. Growing up, I never really learned healthy eating habits. The food in my house was cheap, processed, and convenient. Unfortunately, this has become the norm for many American families. It wasn’t until the last couple of years that I started to make a change toward healthier options. It was definitely no overnight achievement, but more of a work in progress. I eat clean to feel good. I eat clean to maintain a decent energy level. I eat clean because I want to nourish my body with the nutrients it needs and deserves.

You may be asking, what is “clean eating” anyway?

Well, here are a few guidelines to eating a clean diet.

  1. Eat plenty of fruits and vegetables. Buy organic when possible to ensure you are getting all the possible nutrients and no harmful chemicals.
  2. Eat lean meats, such as chicken, turkey, or fish.
  3. Eat whole grains, such as brown rice or whole wheat. Personally, I don’t do gluten, so no wheat for me (read here for more info on that), but others may be able to tolerate it. Make sure it says whole on the ingredients label. Avoid all refined grains such as white flour or white rice. All refined grains are stripped of most of their fiber, vitamins and minerals.
  4. Avoid alcohol.
  5. Avoid added refined sugar.

Clean Eating

I have some helpful tips here if you’d like to give it a try.

Do you want to feel better and become healthier? Starting a clean diet may be for you. Feel free to comment below if you have any questions about eating clean.

Read my story about how and why I started to eat a clean diet.

heartsig

One Response to “What is Clean Eating? 5 Guidelines to Follow”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Workout Wednesday-Beginner/Intermediate Weight Lifting Routine | eatnapplay - July 31, 2013

    […] world. My main goal right now is to put on some muscle. I have lost a lot of fat recently by eating clean, and now I want to get strong. My plan is to start lifting weights three times per week. I will […]

Leave a Reply

