Make Your Own Coconut Water

4 Mar

Do you enjoy coconut water but hate forking over the dough for it? It sure can be pricey! That’s why I decided to make my own. Fortunately, I live in Cali and have coconuts at my local Sprouts store for cheap (I paid $1.50 for one.). I’m not sure how readily available they are everywhere else, but if you can get your hands on one, you should give this recipe a shot. It’s pretty simple.  I found the recipe on Pinterest

Here’s what you’ll need:

  1. A corkscrew
  2. A 16 ounce glass
  3. A 1/2 gallon size pitcher
  4. The water from one coconut. This seems to vary from coconut to coconut. The first one I bought had a whopping 16 ounces of water! The last two I bought only had about half that, and the recipe tasted great each time. You may want to tweak it a little for your specific taste though. Up to you!
  5. 1 quart of (filtered) water
  6. 1/2 teaspoon sea salt-The first time I made it, I used regular table salt because I didn’t have sea salt on hand. It turned out just fine.
  7. 2 tablespoons honey (Raw, organic honey is best.) or pure maple syrup (optional)-I use honey when I make it.

Directions:

  1. Remove water from coconut with a corkscrew. You want to screw it into one of the three holes. Usually one of the holes will be softer than the other two.

Coconut H2O

Coconut H2O

Then, you can hold it over a glass and let the water drain out. (shown below)

Coconut H2O

  1. Heat 1/2 cup of the (filtered) water to boiling and remove from heat.
  2. Add the honey (or syrup) and salt; stir until dissolved.
  3. Add the remaining (filtered) water, honey mixture, and the water from the coconut to a 1/2 gallon size pitcher.
  4. Stir and refrigerate until ready to enjoy.

That’s it! See, easy-peasy! I hope you like it as much as I do. Let me know what you think.

heartsig

9 Responses to “Make Your Own Coconut Water”

  1. Sean March 4, 2013 at 7:43 PM #

    Sounds great! Can’t wait to try.

  2. Lish Dish June 25, 2013 at 11:59 AM #

    Thank you for sharing..very simple instructions

  3. Jenny July 21, 2013 at 9:13 AM #

    Looks great! My husband loves coconut water, how long does a batch stay good in fridge?

    • eatnapplay July 23, 2013 at 4:37 PM #

      Good question. I’d say it lasts up to about 5 days or so. Hope he likes it!

  4. HK September 7, 2013 at 7:19 PM #

    Wow, thanks! So, that means I can double the ingredients and put it in a gallon-sized pitcher?

    • eatnapplay September 14, 2013 at 10:49 AM #

      Yep, that should work! Hope you enjoy it!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make your own Coconut Water - June 25, 2013

    […] have tried a few recipes, but this one is probably my favorite because she breaks it down so easily in her post.  Obviously, for a larger […]

  2. Happy Happenings and a 4th of July Recap | eatnapplay - July 5, 2013

    […] on her blog recently. She added berries and took awesome pictures. Check out her post here. And here is my original post with the […]

Leave a Reply

