Spaghetti Squash Recipe

17 Feb

After becoming gluten-free, I’ve had to add new foods to my arsenal for some variety. One of the most recent foods I have added is spaghetti squash. Tonight was my first time cooking and eating one. It won’t be my last. I have been missing out! I wonder how many other foods I’ve been missing out on all these years. Here is the recipe I used:

Ingredients:

2 medium spaghetti squash

olive oil

salt

pepper

1 small red bell pepper

1 small zucchini

turkey kielbasa (optional)

8 tbs butter*

2 tbs capers

4 tbs lemon juice

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Cut both squash in half length wise. Remove seeds and rub the inside and outside with olive oil. Add salt and pepper to inside.

3. Place on a baking sheet with skin side up. Cover with foil and bake about 30 minutes or until soft.

4. Dice bell pepper and zucchini.

5. Add butter to sauce pan and cook until dark brown. Add bell pepper, zucchini, and capers to butter and cook until soft. Add lemon juice and stir.

6. Meanwhile, heat turkey kielbasa until evenly browned.

7. Remove squash from oven when done and with a fork, scrape out the insides into a bowl. Toss with lemon butter mixture and add kielbasa (if desired).

*Butter can be substituted for margarine, coconut oil, olive oil or a blend. I am going to try it with coconut oil next time to make it healthier.

photo (10)

Spaghetti Squash with Lemon Butter Sauce and Turkey Kielbasa

I feel like the capers really tied in all the flavors of this dish. It was my first time cooking with these as well. I would definitely recommend to leave them in. However, this is a dish that can be made many different ways. You can add any desired meat or keep it vegetarian. You could also add or substitute other vegetables such as tomatoes. The choices are endless. I’m excited that my eyes have recently been opened to new options and delicious new foods. I will definitely be making this again soon. Let me know if you try it and how you like it.

Recipe inspired by: foodnetwork.com

One Response to “Spaghetti Squash Recipe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Ate-A Week’s Worth of Healthy Dinners | eatnapplay - July 2, 2013

    […] Spaghetti squash with Turkey Vegetable Meatballs and Vodka […]

Leave a Reply

