Tonight’s Menu

31 Jan

I just finished a delicious meal. I should get brownie points for it being super healthy! (MMM…brownies!) No, no brownies. I am on a mission to live a healthy lifestyle, not be on a diet, but always be aware of what I am putting into my body. Tonight, I had a healthy and satisfying meal, which included grilled salmon made by my grill master hubby. He hates fish, but still makes it for me (awe…how sweet!). For my sides, I had a salad with tomatoes, avocado and olive oil for my dressing and roasted butternut squash (recipe below).

Ingredients:

  • one butternut squash
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Coat pan with olive oil.
  • Peel and cut squash into one inch chunks.
  • Place squash on pan and toss with a few more drizzles of olive oil, salt and pepper.
  • Cook for 30-40 minutes or until tender.

Image

Image

The pictures don’t do this justice. I am new to butternut squash; this is only the second time I’ve ever eaten it, but I think it’s very yummy. It’s a hearty staple veggie to add to the mix every now and then. Here are a couple more pictures of the rest of my meal…

Image

Image

I’m glad there are left overs for my lunch tomorrow. I’m already excited to enjoy this meal again! Now, what should we have tomorrow night…?

3 Responses to “Tonight’s Menu”

  1. foods for the soul January 31, 2013 at 5:24 AM #

    What a wonderful man!! My guy avoids fish at all costs (unless it’s sushi; go figure), so I highly doubt he’d ever cook it for me. And brownies can be healthy! I just made these wonderfully fudgy beet brownies that are low in both calories and fat. They’re so addicting, and you can’t even taste the beets!

    • nrb1223 January 31, 2013 at 2:16 PM #

      Sushi is the best! I will be sure to check out your brownie recipe. I’m always up for trying out a healthy alternative! Thanks!

      • foods for the soul January 31, 2013 at 11:33 PM #

        I agree! I’d eat sushi almost every day if it wasn’t so expensive… The recipe is here (http://wp.me/p18CG9-GW) if you haven’t found it already. I’m excited to hear what you think if you try it!

Leave a Reply

